The Beginning

First things first; I’ve always loved travelling. For as long as I can remember I’ve had itchy feet. It’s not so much a desire to leave where I’m based, but a need to experience other cultures, put myself out of my comfort zone and see what the world has to offer.

I currently live in the Midlands; Birmingham to be exact. Weather-wise, crime-wise, most things-wise, it’s not the greatest place on Earth. But it’s where I decided to do my degree nearly four years ago, and it’s become home. Friends I’ve made and events I’ve experienced make for some pretty interesting stories (The riots in 2011 is one delightful example).

Before Birmingham came private school in Essex. I think I emerged from that irony quite well – neither a Childs-esque “Oh shut uuup” or a Fry-like “Oh Goodness Gracious my Nelly”; instead, an adolescent with an open mind and a passion for classical music and books, neither of which my eyes would have been opened to otherwise, I’m sure.

School allowed me the opportunity to travel: music tours to Catalonia, Portugal and Boston, a World Challenge Expedition to Namibia, and a few ‘simply-for-pleasure’ trips to France, Germany and Belgium. I should mention that, on top of this, I am half Swiss, and all of my father’s side of the family are still sprawled over the hills, valleys and cities of rural and urban Switzerland.

Sunrise from Dune 45, Sossusvlei

Sunrise from Dune 45, Sossusvlei

One of my half-brothers, Sterling, and his (now) wife, Jesslyn, lived in Hong Kong for over 6 years, and I was lucky enough to visit them three times, experiencing all the island has to offer: wakeboarding, food that I’d never thought edible, schizophrenic weather, and on a personal note, an internship at Morgan Stanley, please GCSE results and disappointing A-Level results. Hong Kong is and always will be one of my favourite places. The buzzing atmosphere, sweltering humidity/Arctic air con dependent on which side of a shop door you’re on and impeccably clean MTR (underground system), to name a few, are traits that make Hong Kong a very interesting place. But more about that later…

“So why have you started this blog?” I hear you clamouring to ask. Well, a couple of months ago I made the choice to move away from the three-day-summer and innumerable murders Birmingham has to offer, and move to the USA. I met a friend whilst travelling through Southeast Asia last November/December who has very graciously offered me a place to sleep at his house in Portland, Oregon. The plan is to stay with him whilst I get myself settled, then travel down the west coast, taking in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Dallas, Las Vegas and anywhere in between.

First leg of my journey - all 6,278 miles of it.

First leg of my journey – all 6,278 miles of it.

From there, who knows what will happen? It’s something I’ll make up as I go along. But for now, my flights to Portland are booked for the 21st June, when the adventure really begins. If you want to know how it turns out for me, all you have to do is follow!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Zulu Irminger

I am a recent graduate in Computer Science. I have many passions in life: classical music, books and travelling to name but a few.

Let me know your thoughts

